Anemia and Your Vision

Happy Sunday to everyone…….

Today’s topic is going to be about something I have been dealing with for more than 20 years which is Anemia.   I know it’s a lot of people that are Anemic out there but, I didn’t know all of the different issues Anemia can cause when you can’t get your blood count back to normal.  I have been through a lot over the years with trying to get my blood count right.  I have taken iron, blood transfusions, eating liver, vitamin C, old remedies that my older relatives recommend  you name it I have done it.   It wasn’t until here recently I have found out some of the health issues I am dealing with my Anemia has a tie to them.

I first noticed in the last, I would say four months that my eyesight had started to decline very rapidly.  I couldn’t see with my glasses and if I took my glasses off I would see nothing but literally fuzz and blur.  I would have every light on in the house to try and see my phone, read the computer,  read letters that I may have gotten in the mail, plus I had problems seeing while driving.  My husband started to notice the change and he was concerned,  he wanted to know when I was going to see the eye doctor.

Well in the meantime, when I did schedule the appointment in June I ended up getting sick and admitted to the hospital to have my appendix removed.  Upon my admittance they noticed my extremely low blood count and addressed my Anemia.   The doctor explained they would have to give me a blood transfusion prior to surgery, because my blood count was too low to perform surgery immediately like they wanted to do.  After surgery I ended up having a lot of complications and the Anemia was a big factor, the two units of blood they gave me before surgery was literally non existent after surgery.  My blood count was so low they couldn’t figure out what was going on, so they gave me two more units of blood the day after surgery.   Each time they checked my blood count a few hours later after the transfusion it was never going anywhere.  I ended up in the hospital four additional days after surgery and they were doing nothing but giving me blood, liquid iron through IV and pill form iron continually each day and it still wasn’t helping.   Finally, on the fourth day the doctor just came in and said your Anemia is chronic and we can’t hold you hostage here to keep giving you blood, and your blood count is still extremely low.  While I was in the hospital I noticed my vision was just progressively getting worse.  So once I was able to get up and move around after my recovery I made an appointment to see my eye doctor.

During my visit to the eye doctor she discussed how I wasn’t seeing as sharply as I should and that my prescription changed drastically.   She questioned any recent health issues and I explained to her about how I had been in the hospital and the Anemia issue, plus how it was deemed as chronic.  So she explained to me that Anemia can affect your vision from moderate to severe or vision loss can occur.   I was really shocked that the Anemia was a culprit in the drastic turn with my vision, I was already scared and didn’t know what to expect when I did go to the eye doctor.   I had so many questions, I wasn’t understanding how this onset just came about, why was it taking over my vision so rapidly, was I going blind?  I really just didn’t know what to think about what was going on, but Anemia was the last thing I would have remotely even thought about that was attacking my vision.

If you are Anemic check on your eye health with your Anemia even if it’s moderate.  If you notice changes in your vision check to see where your blood count stands because if it’s low it’s a possibility your Anemia is affecting your vision.  I am going to list a link below to an article that my eye doctor sent to me to read regarding Anemia and your vision.  (You may have to copy and paste the link)

http://retinatoday.com/2016/06/anemic-retinopathy-case-reports-and-disease-features

I hope you enjoyed today’s topic and………….

Until Next Time

2Busy Mamma

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment